Use of Regulated Ridesharing Services

The use of ridesharing services, as provided for under the parliamentary work expenses framework and MOP(S) Act employment framework, may only be accessed for official travel in those states and territories where the services are regulated.

Ministerial and Parliamentary Services understands that the following states and territories have ridesharing regulations in place:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria

The use of ridesharing services in Western Australia and the Northern Territory may only be accessed once regulations are in place.

For any further information regarding the use of regulated ridesharing services, please contact the Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority on 02 6215 3000, or


Lauren Barons
A/g Assistant Secretary
Advice and Support Branch
Ministerial and Parliamentary Services

4 September 2017