Skip to main content

Resettlement Allowance

A Resettlement Allowance may be paid to you on involuntary retirement from the Parliament.

In order to be eligible for the allowance, you must ‘retire involuntarily’ from the Parliament by:

  • choosing not to stand for re-election following loss of party endorsement, for reasons other than misconduct, or
  • being defeated at an election (including an election where you have campaigned to be elected to represent a different electoral division, or to the other House of the Parliament).

You must also:

  • have first been elected before 9 October 2004 and with a retiring allowance under the Parliamentary Contributory Superannuation Act 1948 not payable immediately on retirement because of the deferral provisions of that Act, or
  • have first been elected on or after 9 October 2004 and declare in writing to the Clerk of the relevant House of Parliament your intention to seek employment on leaving Parliament.

Should these conditions be met, you will be paid a Resettlement Allowance equal to three months of the base salary at the rate current on the date that the Parliament is prorogued prior to the election.

If you receive a Resettlement Allowance, you will also be paid an additional three months of the base salary at the same rate as the Resettlement Allowance if you are:

  • a Senator for a state and have served more than three full years in the Parliament, or
  • a Member, or a Senator for a territory, and have served more than one full term in the Parliament.

For the purposes of the payment of the additional allowance, the period of service referred to is the period of continuous service that ceases when the Senator or Member retires involuntarily.

The House Departments are responsible for paying Resettlement Allowance. Any queries relating to the Resettlement Allowance should be referred to the relevant House Department. Contact details are available to Senators, Members and their employees from the M&PS Help Desks or on the Senators and Members’ Portal on the Extended Parliamentary Network.

Last updated: 06 November 2019