Professional Development Program Upcoming Courses

Date published
03 August 2022
Professional Development Program upcoming course

MaPS provides free learning and development training and resources to parliamentarian and MOP(S) Act employees through the Professional Development Program (PDP).

The program offers a range of topics to enhance your skills and knowledge including on demand training that can be completed at any time.

Log in to MOP(S) Learning to view the full range of training offered this month. If you do not have a MOP(S) Learning account, you can email MOPSTraining@finance.gov.au to create one.

What's new? 

Induction Foundation module for MOP(S) Act employees

New to MOP(S) Act employment?  This foundation module will help you get started in your new role, understand the employment arrangements and utilise support options available.

Keep an eye out for the new face to face induction program - coming to your CPOs soon!

Upcoming training

Safe and Respectful Workplaces (SRW) Foundations training program for Parliamentarians and MOP(S) Act employees 
Participants will understand their right and responsibilities in the workplace, what constitutes unacceptable behaviour and how to respond to serious incidents and when they occur.

Registration Face to Screen sessions are available for Parliamentarians and MOP(S) Act employees in August 2022:

  • 1 hour sessions for Parliamentarians
  • 2 hour sessions for MOP(S) Act employees (by office and by party)

Mental Health First Aid in the Workplace
Mental health problems can affect anyone in the community and inaccurate and stigmatising attitudes towards people with mental illness are common. This course will enable you to assist someone who may be developing a mental health problem or is experiencing a mental health crisis.

Face to Screen
23 – 26 August 2022
1:00 – 4:00 PM AEST   I 12:30 – 3:30 PM ACST  I  11:00 – 2:00PM AWST

About Parliament - an introduction to Australia’s parliamentary system which explores the roles and functions of the Senate and House of Representatives. 

Face to Screen
Wednesday, 24 August 2022
10:00 – 12:00 PM AEST  I  9:30 – 11:30 AM ACST  I  8:00 – 10:00 AM AWST

Media Relations
Working with the media is a key aspect of supporting your parliamentarian. The training provide information on how to engage with media in the parliamentary context, and how to be proactive and approach journalists at all levels (local, regional and national). The module will also include a variety of techniques to handle media, crisis communication, conferences and interviews and much more.

Face to Screen
Thursday, 25 August 2022
2:00 – 5:30 PM AEST  I  1:30 – 5:00 PM ACST  I  12:00 – 3:30 PM AWST

Senate Fundamentals – an introduction session to the Senate’s role, work and functions. 

Face to Screen
Tuesday, 30 August 2022
10:00 – 12:00 PM AEST  I  9:30 – 11:30 AM ACST  I  8:00 – 10:00 AM AWST

Introduction to the legislative process - an overview of the legislative process, the amendment of bills, the role of Senate committees, disagreements between the two houses, and royal assent and commencement.

Face to Screen
Thursday, 1 September 2022
10:00 – 12:00 PM AEST  I  9:30 – 11:30 AM ACST  I  8:00 – 10:00 AM AWST

On demand training and resources

PEMS Training
Browse the extensive library of PEMS Training resources to get you up to speed on the basic functions, using the 2 Factor Authentication (2FA), manager features and additional support.

Executive Assistant Foundations Program
Executive Assistant Foundations Program by Capital EA, is designed for EAs who are new to the role or those who are looking to further develop their understanding of working within the core capabilities of an executive office, to create a solid foundation for a successful future.

ICT Training
The ICT training opportunities is offered by the Department of Parliamentary Services (DPS). ICT training will enable you to develop new skills such as, in Microsoft Suite, Adobe software, create impactful presentations or to learn basic programming and more.
For enrolment, just submit a DPS-Sourced Training Course request form.

LinkedIn Learning
Did you know? MOP(S) Act employees have access to over 14,000 technical, software, creative and business courses on LinkedIn Learning.

External learning
Have you recently completed professional development training outside of MOP(S) Learning? You can have your training recorded by uploading the details of your completed training into your training history on MOP(S) Learning. Learn how to upload your external training with our Creating an External Learning guide.