2024-2027 bargaining representatives

Last updated
11 June 2024

The Government has commenced bargaining for a new Enterprise Agreement to replace the Commonwealth Members of Parliament Staff Enterprise Agreement 2020-23, which nominally expires on 5 August 2024.

The Government, represented by MaPS, is conducting bargaining with employee and union bargaining representatives. Bargaining representatives are entitled to attend bargaining meetings, make proposals for the enterprise agreement and respond to proposals of other representatives.

Members of a union covered by the enterprise agreement (i.e. the CPSU and ASU) will be represented by their union, unless they nominate another bargaining representative. Other employees are not represented at bargaining unless they nominate a bargaining representative.

Should you wish to nominate yourself or another person to be a bargaining representative at bargaining meetings:

  • complete the bargaining representative appointment form (see related resources)
  • give the form to your bargaining representative
  • email a copy of the form to eacomment@finance.gov.au.

What is the role of a bargaining representative? A bargaining representative is an employer, an employer organisation or a person who is nominated to negotiate on behalf of employees to be covered by the agreement. For further information please see S.176 of the Fair Work Act.

Bargaining representatives will attend bargaining meetings and negotiate conditions on behalf of themselves as an individual, or on behalf of a cohort of staff. The Fair Work Commission has published an updated version of the Enterprise agreements bench book.

Employee representatives

Name Office / State Contact details
Ms Lilli Balaam Senator the Hon Anne Ruston / SA lilli.balaam@aph.gov.au
Mr Jake Durrington Senator Paul Scarr / QLD jake.durrington@aph.gov.au
Mr Francis Filler the Hon Kevin Hogan MP / NSW frank.filler@aph.gov.au
Mr Daniel Frost-Foster Mr Bert Van Manen MP / QLD dan.frost-foster@aph.gov.au
Mr Kerrod Gream Senator Matthew Canavan / QLD kerrod.gream@aph.gov.au
Mr John Harris Senator the Hon Jane Hume / VIC john.harris@aph.gov.au
Ms Sallyann Innes Mr Peter Dutton MP / QLD sallyann.innes@aph.gov.au
Mr Simon Kelly Mr Llew O'Brien MP / QLD simon.j.kelly@aph.gov.au
Ms Jacqueline Martin Senator Wendy Askew / TAS jacqueline.martin@aph.gov.au
Ms Mary Von Marburg Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash / WA mary.vonmarburg@aph.gov.au
Mr Lachlan McIntyre the Hon Sussan Ley MP / NSW lachlan.mcintyre@aph.gov.au
Mr Sam Te Rure Mr Terry Young MP / QLD sam.terure@aph.gov.au
Mr Dean Shachar the Hon Sussan Ley MP / NSW dean.shachar@aph.gov.au
Mr Garth Morrison Senator Jacqui Lambie garth.morrison@aph.gov.au
Mr Steven May  Senator the Hon Penny Wong (ASU – SA & NT) / SA steven.may@aph.gov.au

Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU)

Name Union Contact details
Ms Emma Groube CPSU emma.groube@cpsu.org.au
Ms Elizabeth Bateson the Hon Mark Dreyfus KC, MP / VIC liz.bateson@ag.gov.au
Mx Dee Gustafsson Senator Barbara Pocock / SA dee.gustafsson@aph.gov.au
Ms Kim Hall Ms Sharon Claydon MP / NSW kim.hall@aph.gov.au
Ms Amy Knox Ms Joanne Ryan MP / ACT amy.knox@aph.gov.au

United Services Union (USU)

Name Union Contact details
Mr Joshua Polak USU jpolak@usu.org.au
Mr Brydan Toner Ms Joanne Ryan MP / ACT brydan.toner@aph.gov.au
Mr Bryce Wilson Mr David Smith MP / ACT bryce.wilson@aph.gov.au

Staff information sessions

MaPS invites you to attend a staff information session regarding the commencement of bargaining for the new Commonwealth Members of Parliament Staff Enterprise Agreement.

Dates and times to be announced.

MaPS key contacts

Name State / Territory Contact details
EA bargaining team MaPS EAcomment@finance.gov.au
02 6215 3333
After body