Commonwealth Parliament Offices (CPOs)

Last updated
30 September 2020

Commonwealth Parliament Offices (CPOs) are located in the capital city of each state and territory.

CPOs are managed by MaPS state office and territory teams. They provide a range of services, support and advice for federal parliamentarians and their staff in all the electorate and ministerial offices across their state or territory. 

Most CPOs provide permanent office accommodation to federal ministers or other office holders.

The MaPS Australian Capital Territory office manages the Ministerial Wing in Parliament House and the electorate offices of the ACT.

Visiting suites and facilities

There are various suites, meeting rooms and conference facilities at every CPO. These are available on a short-term basis to all federal senators, members and their accompanying staff for parliamentary business.

For full details and arrangements for booking, read the relevant CPO pre-arrival guides (see related resources).

Please notify the MaPS state or territory office of the names of those attending and exact times of arrival and departure so they can facilitate entry. Early notification of cancellations is appreciated.

Telepresence facilities

The National Telepresence System (NTS) is a secure, high definition, digital video conferencing system managed by the Government Network Services Branch (GNSB).

The NTS operates on the Ministerial Communications Network, and connects federal, state and territory governments, DFAT, Defence, and AGD, and all Commonwealth ministers and departmental secretaries. The system is used for inter-jurisdictional meetings up to the security classification of SECRET.

There are TP rooms at Australian Parliament House and at every CPO. Book online to secure a TP room.