Employee Consultative Group

Last updated
21 November 2022

The Employee Consultative Group (ECG) is a committee established under the Enterprise Agreement for discussion of and consultation on workplace issues affecting MOP(S) Act employees. Its membership includes employee representatives from all political parties, unions and MaPS staff (on behalf of the Minister for Finance).

Anybody can raise a workplace issue with an ECG member for ECG discussion. The issue should affect MOP(S) Act employees generally, rather than an individual employee or office. If the issue is about work health and safety, the issue should be raised with the WHS Committee.

MaPS also consults the ECG on proposed changes to the Enterprise Agreement guidelines and employment policies, and includes those views in relevant briefings to the Minister. ECG members are encouraged to seek feedback from those they represent on proposed changes.

Meetings

The ECG usually meets every few months on the Friday following a parliamentary sitting week. The minutes of ECG meetings are published as soon as possible after each meeting. Minutes from previous meetings are available upon request by emailing ECG@finance.gov.au.

ECG members

The ECG is comprised of employee representatives from each workgroup. Workgroups are based on party lines proportionate to the number of employee positions in each work group. The committee also includes union and management representatives.

Employee representatives

Current ECG representatives and their contact details are listed below.

Party

Name

Office

Contact details

Australian Labor Party

Liz Bateson

Hon Mark Dreyfus KC MP

Liz.Bateson@aph.gov.au

Ph: 02 6277 7300

Australian Labor Party

Sofia Wilson

Senator the Hon Sue  Lines

Sofia.Wilson@aph.gov.au

Australian Labor Party

Nathalie Rosales-Cheng

Anne Aly MP

Nathalie.Rosales-Cheng@aph.gov.au

Liberal Party of Australia

Reilly Thomas

Senator  Slade Brockman

Reilly.Thomas@aph.gov.au

Ph: 08 6245 3305

Liberal Party of Australia

Jessica Howard

Mr Bert van Manen MP

Jessica.Howard@aph.gov.au

Ph: 07 3807 6340

The Nationals

Cathy Heidrich

Hon David Littleproud MP

Cathy.Heidrich@aph.gov.au

Ph: 0428 051 736

Australian Greens

Emma Garbutt

Mr Adam Bandt MP

Emma.Garbutt@aph.gov.au

Ph: 03 9417 0772

Independents and minority parties

Josh Addison

Ms Dai Le MP

Josh.Addison@aph.gov.au

Ph: 0422 058 048

If an ECG representative is unable to attend a scheduled meeting, they may arrange for a substitute from the same workgroup to attend in their place. Current substitute ECG representatives are listed below.

Party

Name

Office

Contact details

Australian Labor Party

Mathew Musilli

 

Ms Cassandra Fernando MP

Matt.Musilli@aph.gov.au

Ph: 03 8790 0556

Australian Labor Party

Bryce Wilson

 

Mr David Smith MP

Bryce.Wilson@aph.gov.au

Ph: 0427 544 36 or 02 6293 1344

Australian Labor Party

Kate Crossin

Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm

Kate.Crossin@aph.gov.au

Liberal Party of Australia

Leonie Lloyd-Smith

Mr Rowan Ramsey MP

Leonie.Lloyd-Smith@aph.gov.au

Liberal Party of Australia

Tim Robertson

Senator Colbeck (Tasmania)

Tim.robertson@aph.gov.au

Ph: 0407 183 549

The Nationals

Kerrod Gream

Senator Matthew Canavan

Kerrod.Gream@aph.gov.au

Ph: 07 4927 2003

Australian Greens

Jess Feehely

Senator Larissa Waters

Jess.Feehely@aph.gov.au

Ph: 07 3367 0566

Independents and minority parties

Substitute ECG

C/Office of Dr Helen Haines

Dr Helen Haines MP

Helen.Haines.MP@aph.gov.au

Ph: 03 5721 7077

Union representatives

Name

Union

Email

Telephone

Rosemary Ryan, or
Emma Groube

Community and Public Sector Union

Rosemary.Ryan@cpsu.org.au

Emma.Groube@cpsu.org.au

 

Mick Jones

Australian Services Union

mjones@usu.org.au

 

Terms of reference

The terms of reference (see related resources) were agreed by the ECG on 25 October 2019.

Updated terms of reference for the 47th Parliament ECG will be made available once finalised.