WHS committee

Last updated
31 October 2022

The Work Health and Safety (WHS) committee facilitates consultation between Finance, Parliamentarians, and MOP(S) Act employees. The committee works together on a broad range of work health and safety issues, including developing work health and safety policies.  An updated WHS committee terms of reference will be uploaded once finalised.

Work health and safety committee members

The committee is made up of Health and Safety Representatives (HSRs) from each workgroup. Workgroups are based on party lines proportionate to the number of employee positions in each work group. The committee also includes union and management representatives.

For information read role of committee members and Health and Safety Representatives (see related resources).

Current HSRs and their contact details are listed below:

Party

Name

Office

Contact details

Australian Labor Party

Lisa Banyard

Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP

Lisa.Banyard@aph.gov.au

 

Australian Labor Party

Leanne Coleman

Hon Kristy McBain MP

Leanne.Coleman@aph.gov.au

Ph: 02 6284 2442

Australian Labor Party

Kate Sutherland

Ms Lisa Chesters MP

Kate.Sutherland@aph.gov.au

Ph: 0432 070 469

Australian Labor Party

Tamsin Anspach

Senator the Hon Penny Wong

Tamsin.Anspach@aph.gov.au

Ph: 08 8212 8272

Liberal Party of Australia

 

Chantal D’Argaville

Hon Peter Dutton MP

Chantal.D’Argaville@aph.gov.au

Ph: 02 6277 4022 or 07 3205 9977

Liberal Party of Australia

Helen Lewis

Hon Stuart Robert MP

Helen.Lewis@aoh.gov.au

Ph: 07 5500 5919

Liberal Party of Australia

 

Mary von Marburg

Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash

Mary.VonMarburg@aph.gov.au

Ph: 02 6277 3045 or 0457 529 244

The Nationals

Simon Kelly

Mr Llew O’Brien MP

Simon.J.Kelly@aph.gov.au

 

Australian Greens

Emma Garbutt

Mr Adam Bandt MP

Emma.Garbutt@aph.gov.au

Ph: 03 9417 0772

Independents and minority parties

Stella Weston-Smith

Mr Andrew Wilkie MP

Stella.WestonSmith@aph.gov.au

Ph: 03 6234 5255

Deputy Health and Safety Representatives (DHSR) only have voting rights at meetings if an HSR from the same workgroup is unable to attend.

Current DHSRs are listed below:

Party

Name

Office

Contact details

Australian Labor Party

Ky Sinclair

Mr Sam Lim MP

Ky.Sinclair@aph.gov.au

Ph: 0425016694

Australian Labor Party

Hafiz Jan

Ms Cassandra Fernando MP

Hafiz.Jan@aph.gov.au

Ph: 03 8790 0556 or 0450 803 202

Liberal Party of Australia

Susan Kappel

Senator Alex Antic

Susan.Kappel@aph.gov.au

Ph: 08 8359 0303 or 0422 228 717

Liberal Party of Australia

Chris Williams

Hon Sussan Ley MP

Chris.D.Williams@aph.gov.au

Ph: 02 6021 3264

The Nationals

Cathy Heidrich

Hon David Littleproud MP

Cathy.Heidrich@aph.gov.au

Ph: 0428 051 736

Australian Greens

Jess Feehely

Senator Larissa Waters

Jess.Feehely@aph.gov.au

Ph: 07 3367 0566

Independents and minority parties

Deputy HSR

C/Office of Dr Helen Haines

Dr Helen Haines MP

Helen.Haines.MP@aph.gov.au

Ph: 03 5721 7077

Current union representatives and their contact details are listed below:
 

Name

Union

Email

Telephone

Rosemary Ryan, or
Emma Groube

Community and Public Sector Union

Rosemary.Ryan@cpsu.org.au

Emma.Groube@cpsu.org.au

 

Mick Jones

Australian Services Union

 actorganiser@usu.org.au

 

Meeting minutes

Minutes from each meeting for the 47th Parliament will be uploaded as they are finalised.

Minutes from previous WHS Meetings are available upon request by emailing MOPSWHS@finance.gov.au