WHS committee

Last updated
06 July 2020

The Work Health and Safety (WHS) committee facilitates consultation between Finance, Parliamentarians, and MOP(S) Act employees. The committee works together on a broad range of work health and safety issues, including developing work health and safety policies.  For more information, read the WHS committee terms of reference (see related resources).

Work health and safety committee members

The committee is made up of Health and Safety Representatives (HSRs) from each workgroup. Workgroups are based on party lines proportionate to the number of employee positions in each work group. The committee also includes union and management representatives.

For information read role of committee members and Health and Safety Representatives (see related resources).

For MOP(S) Act employees, the role of Staff Assistance Officer is generally undertaken by each work group’s HSR. SAOs are employees trained to provide information and support regarding bullying and harassment in the workplace.

Current HSRs and their contact details are listed below:

Name

Party and Office

Email

Telephone

Luke Barnes

Liberal Party of Australia

Office of Mr Dave Sharma MP

luke.barnes@aph.gov.au

02 9327 9388

Helen Lewis

Liberal Party of Australia

Office of the Hon Stuart Robert MP

helen.lewis@aph.gov.au

07 5500 5919

Rosemary Little

Liberal Party of Australia

Office of the Hon Peter Dutton MP

rosemary.little@aph.gov.au

07 3205 9977

Leonie Lloyd-Smith

Liberal Party of Australia

Office of Rowan Ramsey

Leonie.lloyd-smith@aph.gov.au

07 3205 9977

Jorden Gunton

Liberal Party of Australia

Office of Senator Wendy Askew

jorden.gunton@aph.gov.au 03 6331 8501

Gai Coghlan

Australian Labor Party

Office of Mr Chis Hayes MP

gai.coghlan@aph.gov.au

02 9726 3988

Kate Sutherland

Australian Labor Party 

Office of Ms Lisa Chesters MP

kate.sutherland@aph.gov.au

03 5443 9055

Brydan Toner

Australian Labor Party 

Office of Dr Mike Freelander MP

brydan.toner@aph.gov.au

02 4620 0293

Simon Kelly

The Nationals

Office of Mr Llew O'Brien MP

simon.j.kelly@aph.gov.au

07 4121 2936

David Mejia-Canales

Australian Greens

Office of Senator Lidia Thorpe

david.mejia-canales@aph.gov.a

03 9232 8140

Stella Weston-Smith

Independent parliamentarians

Office of Mr Andrew Wilkie MP

stella.westonsmith@aph.gov.au

03 6234 5255

Deputy Health and Safety Representatives (DHSR) only have voting rights at meetings if an HSR from the same workgroup is unable to attend.

Current DHSRs are listed below:

Name

Party

Email

Telephone

Nikki Arnold

Liberal Party of Australia

Office of Trent Zimmerman

Nicole.arnold@aph.gov.au

08 8633 1744

Katherine Gurbiel

Australian Labor Party

Office of Ms Madeleine King MP

katherine.gurbiel@aph.gov.au

0410 439 291

Kate Boyd

Australian Labor Party

Office of the Hon Ed Husic MP

kate.boyd@aph.gov.au

02 4991 1022

Cathy Heidrich

The Nationals

Office of the Hon Mark Coulton MP

cathy.heidrich@aph.gov.au

02 6277 7495

Georgia Webster

Australian Greens

Office of Senator Lidia Thorpe

georgia.webster@aph.gov.au

03 9232 8140

Kim York

Independent parliamentarians

Office of Senator Rex Patrick

kim.york@aph.gov.au

08 8232 1144

Current union representatives and their contact details are listed below:

Name

Party

Email

Telephone

Poni Ravula

United Services Union

pravula@usu.org.au

0459 060 804

Eleanor Kennedy

Community and Public Sector Union

eleanor.kennedy@cpsu.org.au

03 8620 6357

Vacant

Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance

 

 

Vacant

Australian Services Union

 

 

Meeting minutes

2021 

2020

2019

2018